Call to Him, He will answer

Hira' Cave from the peak

I was slowly climbing up the Jabal Nour behind my brother. I looked up and saw my families have quickly gone up without any trouble. But somehow, both of us were left a long way off that we could hardly see the rest of the team.

The sun was extremely hot that day and I felt that I was too much dehydrated till it made me so weak. It was half the journey up to Hira’ Cave, perhaps at nearly 300 steps away from the cave, I suddenly stopped at the man – made bench allocated for the hikers as pit stop. I took a long breath and decided to advise my brother to continue his hiking without me. I just gave up. He went up and left me to take a break.

Yes, I JUST GAVE UP. I wanted to cry feeling so helpless that I couldn’t continue the journey to see the historic cave. I was so tired and felt terribly sorry that I’ve finished the whole bottle of mineral water along the way. Nothing left for me and thirst began to weaken my body. It was then when I made du’a to Allah to make me strong and be able to carry on as I had come a very long way.

Few minutes later, a mid-age lady hiked up and made a stop at the bench next to me. After she greeted me with salaam, we had a short conversation and said this:

“Let’s go up the hill together, we can slowly do it inshaAllah.”

I just felt so relieved at that moment because I have someone with me who approximately will be hiking at my pace. We went up together whilst talking endlessly till she asked what my favourite surah is.

“Ohh, I have a few but the one that I do memorized is Al-Inshiroh,” the surah just popped up in my mind. Albeit it is a simple, short surah, I have a thing towards this particular surah due to its beautiful meaning. My favourite parts are:

For indeed, with hardship will be ease. [Surah Al-Inshirah ayah 5]

Indeed, with hardship will be ease. [Surah Al- Inshirah ayah 6]

We recited the surah together throughout our journey and rested a few times at some pit stops. It was a wondrous expedition having someone to tag along in reaching the Hira’ Cave. Being honest, it wasn’t the peak that made me feel on top of the world but the climb was definitely a worth experience.

The incident that happened during my hike up to the Hira’ Cave was unforgettable. I’ve always known about asking Allah for help and guidance whenever we are in casualties but yet we sometimes don’t realize or aware of the help sent to us in many forms and means are actually none other than from Allah. Subhanallah… As for me, Allah has sent the lady to motivate and support me when I was down and started to give up. Allah Al – Muttakabir. Yes, everything happens with Allah’s permission and I have no doubt with Allah’s qada’ and qadar.

At times, we tend to cry for Allah’s help to mitigate our sorrows and pains or even pull us out from our hardships. Some people might get the help right away and some a little bit later. Some will suffer for years till their hardships begin to cause them to question Allah’s love towards them. But do ponder upon the story of Prophet Ayyub a.s who was tested with a disease for many years but never complain. The help from Allah came when he finally seek refuge to Him:

And [mention] Ayyub, when he called to his Lord, “Indeed, adversity has touched me, and you are the Most Merciful of the merciful.” – [Surah Al-Anbiya’ ayah 83.]

So We responded to him and remove what afflicted him of adversity. And We gave him [back] his family and the like thereof with them as mercy from Us and a reminder for the worshippers [of Allah ]. –[Surah Al-Anbiya’ ayah 84.]

The patience showed by Prophet Ayyub a.s was remarkable. It is an example for us to be patient with Allah’s trials upon us and never lose hope with our prayers to Allah.

Trials and hardships are meant to serve us in this life. They are the key indicator to measure our imaan in dunya before we enter the ultimate eternal life in the akhirah. From small tests to the big ones, all of these trials are accountable to be judged by Allah later.

Just bear in mind, when trials and hardships occur, endure them with patience then pray to Allah to ease them for us. Perhaps those trials are our tickets to Jannah.

 

Leave a Reply

