A world without Islam?

I studied International Affairs in Uni years ago. Trust me, it was all about politics, power, international law, world crisis, etc. Sounds heavy, huh? Yeah, I think it requires someone with a hugeeeeeeeeeee brain and super knowledgeable on world issues kind of person. Well, NOT ME. I don’t have that HUGE brain. hahahaha…
Due to that, I’m doing nothing close to ‘international’ or politics job scope. Nah ah. But when I saw a review about a new book written by Graham E. Fuller titled “A World Without Islam”, it just got my attention quickly.
Maybe it’s because the word Islam. Somehow, the religion made a lot of impact on me lately. But the title really bugged me. A world without Islam??? Seriously? Hah, if that so, the world will never exist at all!
Oh by the way, I haven’t read the book yet. I’m not sure if want to. But a review says the author is a bit biased towards Islam, hence she didn’t like it. Whatever it is, I’m definitely supportive to whoever supports the religion. I’m a Muslim and I’m proud to be one. Muslims don’t support violence and wars. We are a peace community. Do read this article by a scholar that says Quran is a book of peace, not war.
There was a comment from a reader towards the review:

Nice discussions, i saw the book yesterday at Kinokuniya, Malaysia and was about the buy the book but instead, i googled the tittle to see what the review is like. I dont think i will buy the book now, but let me say this, there is no such thing as islamic terrorism. The two words cannot go together, its like saying a peaceful terrorist.


More people turn to Islam after 9/11. They were initially questions the teaching of Islam and bought themselves a Quran. Now about 24% of Muslims from US are converts (got the figure from youtube).


Come, let us reasonably discuss things so that we will not be one of the ignorance.


Salam. (Peace)


Posted by: Idrus

One thing that I guess every Muslim should do is living our lives by example. Be modest and create peaceful living. Then, there’ll be more books with the title “Islam is for every one”.
Leave a Reply

